1980sABCAuto RacingIndy 500Interviews

Auto Racing – 1987 – Indy 500 – Jerry Gappens Interviews Driver Rick Mears – Winner Of 1979 Indy 500

Rick Mears, also known by the nickname “Rocket Rick”…..is a retired American race car driver….who is one of only three men to win the Indianapolis 500 four times in 1979, 1984, 1988 and 1991….and is the current record-holder for pole positions the Indy 500 race with six in 1979, 1982, 1986, 1988, 1989 and 1991….plus, Mears is also a three-time Indycar series/World Series champion in 1979, 1981 and 1982…. who started in the “outside pole” position in this 1987 Indy 500….while finishing 3rd in the race.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button