1980sInterviewsMusicMusic ConcertsRock N Roll MusicSpecialsUSA Network

Music – 1982 – Aerosmith – Dream On + Walk This Way – Performed On USA Network Boston Rocks Special

Aerosmith is an American rock band formed in Boston, Massachusetts in 1970…..as the group consists of Steven Tyler (vocals, keyboards), Joe Perry (guitar), Tom Hamilton (bass), Joey Kramer (drums) and Brad Whitford (guitar)…..as their style was rooted in blues-based hard rock….and has come to also incorporate elements of pop rock, heavy metal and rhythm and blues….which has inspired many subsequent rock artists…..who are sometimes referred to as “the Bad Boys from Boston” ….as well as “America’s Greatest Rock and Roll Band”.…..while the primary songwriting team of Tyler and Perry is often collectively known as the “Toxic Twins”.

Perry and Hamilton, originally in a band together called the Jam Band….actually met up with Tyler, Kramer and guitarist Ray Tabano and formed Aerosmith…..then in 1971, Tabano was replaced by Whitford….and the band began developing a following in Boston…..when they were signed to Columbia Records in 1972 …..and released a string of gold and platinum albums….as it began with their 1973 debut album….which was followed by Get Your Wings in 1974….then in 1975, the band broke into the mainstream with the album Toys in the Attic….and their 1976 follow-up Rocks cemented their status as hard rock superstars ….while Draw the Line and Night in the Ruts followed in 1977 and 1979 respectively….as their first five albums have since attained multi-platinum status. Throughout the 1970’s, the band toured extensively and charted a dozen Billboard Hot 100 singles….which included their first Top 40 hit “Sweet Emotion”….and then the Top 10 hits “Dream On” and “Walk This Way”…..which are featured in this video seen herewith. By the end of the decade, they were among the most popular hard rock bands in the world and developed a following of fans, often referred to as the “Blue Army”…..but drug addiction and internal conflict took their toll on the band….which led to the departures of Perry and Whitford in 1979 and 1981, respectively….when they were replaced by Jimmy Crespo and Rick Dufay…..as the band did not fare well between 1980 and 1984, releasing the album Rock in a Hard Place, which was certified gold….but failed to match their previous successes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button