1980sABCAustinKeith JacksonNCAAVolleyballWide World of Sports

NCAA – 1980 – Championships – Outdoor Track & Field + Mens Volleyball USC Vs UCLA


This 1980 ABC Wide World of Sports coverage of the NCAA Track and Field Championships from Austin, Texas featuring broadcasting legend Keith Jackson and Marty Liqouri on the mike…..and the NCAA Men’s Volleyball Championship between USC verses UCLA….with Steve Zabriskie and Diana Nyad covering the meet..

The 1980 NCAA Men’s Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships were contested June 3 − 7…. which were at the 58th annual NCAA-sanctioned track meet to determine the individual and team national champions of men’s collegiate Division I outdoor track and field events in the United States….as this year’s meet was contested at Memorial Stadium at the University of Texas at Austin in Austin, Texas. This was the third time the Longhorns hosted the event….and the first since 1974.  

UTEP (University of Texas El Paso) topped the team standings for the third consecutive year with 69 points ….while claiming their fourth national title….as UCLA came in 2nd with 46 points…..Florida State got 3rd with 38 points…..USC garnered 4th with 36 points….as the home team Texas Longhorns captured 19 points for 8th place.  This meet featured Auburn freshman Stanley Floyd in a surprising win over Florida State’s Michael Robertson (2nd) and USC’s James Sanford (3rd) in the men’s 100m….along with UCLA’s Greg Foster winning the 110m hurdles over LSU’s Orlando McDaniel…..and the USC 4 x 100m relay team winning 1st over Oklahoma State (2nd) and Florida State (3rd).  The triple jump is won by Steve Hanna of UTEP with a jump of 55’1″…..with Kansas Dani Owalabi (2nd) and UCLA Doakie Williams (3rd). The 400m race was won by UTEP’s Bert Cameron in 45.23 over USC’s Bill Green (2nd) and Florida State’s Walter McCoy (3rd)….while in the 400m hurdles favorite, UCLA’s Andre Phillips (a future Olympic silver medalist in 1984), got out of step and pulled up with cramps as Southern Illinois’ David Lee took 1st….and was followed by UTEP’s Winfred Mulli (2nd) and St. Johns’ Tom Hamlin (3rd).

The 1980 NCAA Men’s Volleyball Tournament was the 11th annual tournament to determine the national champion of NCAA men’s college volleyball….which was played at Irving Gymnasium in Muncie, Indiana during May 1980.  Either UCLA (7) or USC (1) had won 8 of the past 10 NCAA men’s volleyball titles….so this high-pitched rivalry was in full bloom when USC defeated UCLA in the final match, 3–1 (15–7, 6–15, 15–13, 15–8), to win their second national title….as the Trojans (22–6) were coached by Ernie Hix….while USC’s setter Dusty Dvorak was named Most Outstanding Player of the tournament. An All-tournament team of seven players was also named including Dvorak and teammates Tim Hoyland, Steve Timmons and Pat Powers….along with UCLA’s Steve Guinac and Karch Kiraly….and Ohio State’s Andy Dumpis…..of whom, Karch Kiraly, Dusty Dvorak and Steve Timmons played key rolls in the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics USA Men’s Volleyball gold medal just four years later.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button