1980sEdmonton OilersESPNHockeyLegendsNHLNHL All Star GameTBS TNT WTBSWayne Gretsky

NHL – 1985 – 38th Annual All Star Game – Wales All Stars VS Campbell All Stars – With Al Trautwig


The 38th National Hockey League All-Star Game was held in the Hartford Civic Center in Hartford, Connecticut….which is the home to the Hartford Whalers, on February 4, 1986…..with Edmonton Oilers coach Glen Sather and honorary captain Phil Esposito leading the Campbell Conference All Stars….while Philadelphia Flyers coach Mike Keenan and honorary captain Gordie Howe leading the Wales Conference.

The Campbell Conference starting line-up included D Paul Coffey (Oilers), D Doug Wilson (Blackhawks), RW Jari Kurri (Oilers), LW Glen Anderson (Oilers), G Grant Fuhr and C Wayne “The Great One” Gretzky….so, simply put….the Campbell Conference All Stars sported dang near the entire Edmonton Oilers starting line-up….but then again, they did dominate the Campbell Conference from 1983 – 1990…..while winning 5 Stanley Cups in a row.  The Wales Conference starting line-up included D Rod Langway (Capitals), D Ray Bourque (Bruins), RW Tim Kerr (Flyers), LW Michel Goulet, G Mario Gosselin (Nordiques) and C Mario Lemieux (Penguins). Additionally, reserves for the Campbell Conference included D Rob Ramage (Blues), C Dale Hawerchuk (Jets), LW Mark Messier (Oilers), C Neal Broten (North Stars), D Gary Sutter (Flames), C Denis Savard (Black Hawks) and D Lee Fogolin, D Kevin Lowe and G Andy Moog of the Edmonton Oilers…..while the Wales Conference reserves included D Mike Ramsey (Sabres), C Kirk Muller (Devils), RW Mike Gartner (Capitals), LW Sylvain Turgeon (Whalers), RW Toni Tanti (Canucks)), D Larry Robinson (Canadiens), C Dave Poulin (Flyers), RW Mike Bossy (Islanders), C Peter Stastny (Nordiques), LW Brian Propp (Flyers), LW Mats Naslund (Canadiens), G Bob Froese (Flyers) and C Bryan Trottier (Islanders).

Simply put, this 1985 NHL All Star Game was loaded with NHL greats and legends…..evidenced by how great tthis game was….as this hotly contested All Star Game went into overtime with the Wales Conference eventually winning by a score of 4 – 3……as the Campbell conference was led by goals from Toni Tanti, Wayne Gretzky and Dale Hawerchuk…..and the Wales Conference were lead by two goals from Flyers Brian Propp and single goals by Peter Statsny and Bryan Trottier for the winning goal.  Any way you cut the pie….if you are a NHL fan….or just a sports fan…..this is MUST SEE TV!!!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button