1980sEdmonton OilersESPNHockeyLegendsNHLNHL All Star GameOther SportsWayne Gretsky

NHL – 1986 – 38th All Star Game – Hartford, Conneticut – Wales Conference VS Campbell Conference


The 38th National Hockey League All-Star Game was held in the Hartford Civic Center in Hartford, Connecticut, home to the Hartford Whalers, on February 4, 1986….which featured the Wales Conference All Stars coached by Mike Keenan of the Philadelphia Flyers against the Campbell Conference All Stars coached by Glen Sather of the Edmonton Oilers….with 15,126 fans in attendance….while NHL all time greats Phil Esposito as the Wales honorary captain and Gordie Howe as the Campbell Conference honorary captain.

Starting lineup for the Wales Conference included D Paul Coffey (Edmonton), D Doug Wilson (Chicago), RW Jari Kurri (Edmonton), LW Glenn Anderson (Edmonton), C Wayne Gretsky (Edmonton)….who was the Wales captain….and G Grant Fuhr (Edmonton)….so, needless to say….the Edmonton Oilers dominated the Wales Conference All Star team….which also featured Oilers D Lee Fogolin, D Kevin Lowe and LW Mark Messier….along with other NHL greats such as C Neal Broten (Minnesota), D Gary Suter (Calgary) and C Denis Savard (Chicago).

The Campbell Conference All Stars starters featured D Rod Langway (Washington), D Ray Bourque (Boston), C Tim Kerr (Philadelphia), LW Michel Goulet (Quebec), C Mario Lemieux (Pittsburg) and G Mario Grosselin (Quebec)…..along with other NHL all time greats RW Mike Gartner (Washington), LW Sylvain Turgeon (Hartford), D Larry Robinson (Montreal)….who was the Campbell Conference captain, RW Mike Bossey and C Brian Trottier (NY Islanders), C Peter Stastney (Quebec) and LW Mats Naslund (Montreal).

Any way you cut the pie, this 38th NHL All Star Game featured an abundance of all time great players….who played one heck of a game that required overtime to decide the winner….as Wales Conference G Grant Fuhr was voted the MVP….while the Campbell Conference won 4 – 3….which makes this must see TV for any hockey fan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button